2008 Women's cross country team

Vincent action

‣ Dominated all six races to win the first NCAA Championship in program history
‣ Posted the first and only perfect score in Pac-10 Championships history, sweeping the top six spots
‣ Started the season ranked No. 3 after finishing 8th in 2007 but moved to No. 1 after the second race of the year
‣ Put four runners in the top-10 to win Pre-Nationals by a huge margin against 11 ranked teams
‣ Captured first West Region title in 16 years

‣ Five All-Americans: Christine Babcock, Katie Follett, Mel Lawrence, Amanda Miller, Kendra Schaaf
‣ National Coach of the Year – Greg Metcalf
‣ USTFCCCA National Scholar Team of the Year

‣ Pac-10 Athlete of the Year – Kendra Schaaf
‣ Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year – Christine Babcock
‣ Pac-10 Coach of the Year – Greg Metcalf
‣ Washington took six of the seven All-Pac-10 First Team spots: Babcock, Anita Campbell, Lawrence, Miller, and Schaaf and Lauren Saylor was All-Pac-10 Second Team
‣ Washington was ranked No. 1 going into Pac-10s, and had yet to race No. 2 Oregon, which hosted the race. The top-five finishers are needed for a perfect score of 15 points, Washington surpassed even that, going 1-6, in order of Schaaf, Lawrence, Babcock, Campbell, Follett, and Miller
‣ Schaaf set a Pac-10 Championships meet record and UW’s top-four all broke the old course record
‣ Was the only American to qualify for the PGA European Tour in 1991, earning a spot in the 1992 British Open