Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Davis, a junior right-handed pitcher from Mountain View, Calif., is 10-1 on the season with a 1.77 ERA. He is tied for the Pac-12 lead in wins and third in ERA.
Davis Named Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalist
Release: 05/15/2014
Print RSS

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. - The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association has released the list of semifinalists for the 2014 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations, and Washington's Tyler Davis is among the 35 players on the list. 

The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

Davis, a junior right-handed pitcher from Mountain View, Calif., is 10-1 on the season with a 1.77 ERA. He is tied for the Pac-12 lead in wins and third in ERA.

Davis has emerged as one of the top pitchers in the nation and is on the Golden Spikes Midseason Watch List and Gregg Olson Breakout Player of the Year watch list.

This is the 28th year of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. The finalists will be announced on Thursday, June 5.  The 2014 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the fourth year.  The winner will be unveiled on Saturday, June 14 at 10 a.m. CT, the opening day of the 2014 CWS.

The candidates hail from 17 different conferences and 28 different schools. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with six semifinalists, followed by the Big West with five, Atlantic Coast, Ohio Valley and Pac-12 with three and Missouri Valley, Sun Belt and West Coast Conferences with two. Every position on the diamond is represented, including 10 starting pitchers, five second basemen, four outfielders, three catchers, three relief pitchers, three utility players, two third basemen, three shortstops and two designated hitters, among this diversified group.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.  Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.


Pos. Name, School

Caleb Adams, OF, Louisiana-Lafayette

Will Allen, C, Ole Miss

Austin Anderson, 3B, Ole Miss

Casey Bloomquist, SP, Cal Poly

Dylan Bosheers, SS, Tennessee Tech

Aaron Brown, UTL, Pepperdine

Walker Buehler, SP, Vanderbilt

Michael Cederoth, RP, San Diego State

Michael Conforto, OF, Oregon State

Jace Conrad, 2B, Louisiana-Lafayette

Andrew Daniel, 2B, San Diego

Tyler Davis, SP, Washington

Paul DeJong, 2B, Illinois State

Brandon Finnegan, SP, TCU

Blake Fox, SP, Rice

Derek Gibson, DH, Southeast Missouri State

Casey Gillaspie, 1B, Wichita State

Mackenzie Handel, DH, Stephen F. Austin

Matt Imhoff, SP, Cal Poly

Michael Katz, OF, William & Mary

Nathan Kirby, SP, Virginia

Mark Mathias, 2B, Cal Poly

Daniel Miles, SS, Tennessee Tech

Sam Moore, RP, UC Irvine

Andrew Morales, SP, UC Irvine

Aaron Nola, SP, LSU

Max Pentecost, C, Kennesaw State

A.J. Reed, UTL, Kentucky

Michael Russell, SS, North Carolina

Joe Seddon, RP, South Carolina

Kyle Schwarber, C, Indiana

Ryan Seiz, 2B, Liberty

D.J. Stewart, OF, Florida State

Cole Sturgeon, UTL, Louisville

Ben Wetzler, SP, Oregon State

Washington Baseball
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets