Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Krista Vansant is one of four finalists for the volleyball Honda Award.
Vansant A Finalist For Honda Award
Release: 12/24/2013
Print RSS

SEATTLE - Already the AVCA National Player of the Year, Krista Vansant is now up for another big honor, as the Honda Award announced its four finalists for volleyball player of the year. Vansant is part of a group that includes Haley Eckerman of Texas, Kelsey Robinson of Nebraska, and Carly Wopat from Stanford.

The Honda Sports Award is presented annually by the Collegiate Women's Sports Awards (CWSA) to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”. The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup. The nominees were chosen by a panel of coaches representing the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA).

The Honda Sports award winner for volleyball will be announced in the new year after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.

Former Husky great Courtney Thompson was the Honda Award winner in 2005.

In another piece of news on Monday, the AVCA released its final coaches poll, with the Huskies coming in No. 4 nationally, with Penn State, Wisconsin, and Texas taking the top-three spots.

Washington Volleyball
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets