Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Four Huskies Nominated For Seattle Sports Star Of The Year
Release: 12/10/2012
Print RSS

Dec. 10, 2012

SEATTLE - Started by legendary sports reporter Royal Brougham and the Seattle Post-Intelligencer, the 78th Annual MTR Western Sports Star of the Year this year features four Husky athletes/teams: Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Chris Williams, Katie Flood and Men's Crew. The awards are given to individuals or a team for outstanding sports achievement and "positively inspiring the state of Washington".

Past Husky recipients have included two-time Cy Young and World Series winner Tim Lincecum, tailback first-team All Pac-12 Chris Polk and USA Softball Player of the Year and Women's College World Series National Champion pitcher Danielle Lawrie.

Fans can vote for nominees in four categories: Professional, Male Amateur, Female Amateur and Sports Story of the Year. Voting is open at and fans can vote daily until January 20.

Washington's Austin Seferian-Jenkins and Chris Williams are both nominated for Male Amateur Sports Star of the Year. A true sophomore, Seferian-Jenkins finished 2012 as the NCAA leader in receptions as a tight end with 5.25 per game. He holds four school records, including 104 career receptions, 1,327 career receiving yards and 12 touchdown receptions all at the tight end position.

Williams enters his senior year at Washington with the 2012 Mark H. McCormack award for the world's No. 1 ranked amateur. Williams was named the Phil Mickelson Freshman of the Year in 2010, and first team All-American in 2011 and 2012. As UW's all-time wins leader, Williams has 20 career top-10 finishes and 6 first-place finishes. His 2012 70.61 stroke average ranks him second lowest in UW single-season history.

Distance runner Katie Flood is nominated for Female Amateur Sports Star of the Year. The 2012 NCAA 1500m outdoor Champion and 2011 Pac-12 cross-country champion shattered both cross-country and track records. Her 4:28 mile last February at the Husky Classic catapulted her to the fourth-fastest mile in NCAA indoor history. Flood anchored the NCAA title-winning distance medley relay last season for the program's first women's title.

Flood is nominated in the same category as Washington alumna Mary Whipple, former UW coxswain and 2012 Olympic gold medalist in the U.S. women's eight.

Finishing out the nominations, Washington Men's Crew is selected for Sports Story of the Year. The defending national champions headed to the 2012 IRAs ranked undefeated, No. 1 in the nation. The Huskies took to the Cooper River in Cherry Hill, N.J. and went 5-for-5 for the national championship and the program's sixth straight Ten Eyck trophy, given annually to the overall points champion at the IRAs. Washington is the first team in history to sweep all five events at the IRAs. The Huskies have won four national championships in six years, and won 15 national championships in the program.

Winners will be announced Friday, January 25, 2013 at Benaroya Hall. The event will have a VIP reception and silent auction before the award show, where attendees can meet the nominees and past winners. Tickets can be purchased at or in person at the Benaroya Hall box office. Premium tickets are $100, reserved are $80 and include access to the show and the VIP reception. Show-only tickets can be purchased for $35.

Washington Cross Country
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets