Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Huskies Honored By CRCA
Release: 05/27/2014
Print RSS

SEATTLE – The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced their 2014 regional award winners on Tuesday afternoon and the University of Washington Huskies were presented with numerous accolades to recognize the squad for all the hard work they have put in this season.

UW had a total of five student-athletes selected to the West All-Region team, more than any other school in the region. Those five athletes included three on the first team all-region and two on the second team all-region. Seniors Maddie Cordner, Kirstyn Goodger and coxswain Maddy Johnston all made the first team all-region squad and boat mates Patricia Obee and Ruth Whyman were both selected to the second team.

Student-athletes were evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish, coaches recommendations and their 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees were required to be eligible student-athletes who competed in their teams' varsity boat for at least 75 percent of races this spring.

All five of the athletes selected will now be eligible for All-America awards which will be announced after this weekends NCAA Championship regatta.

The Huskies also earned seven CRCA Scholar Athlete awards, three of which were Cordner, Johnston and Whyman. Joining them were Hannah Allen, Reilly Dever, Eleni Englert and Hannah Lukanuski.

The seven Dawgs to be named CRCA Scholar Athletes ties Stanford and Washington State for the most selections in the Pac-12.

To be an eligible scholar athlete, the rowers were required to be in at least their second year of eligibility, participated in a NCAA eligible boat for at least 75 percent of the current spring season and maintain a minimum of a 3.5 cumulative GPA during their time at Washington.

CRCA West Region Award Recipients:

West First Team All-Region 
Michelle Campbell, University of San Diego
Maddie Cordner, University of Washington
Anna Dawson, Stanford University
Kirstyn Goodger, University of Washington
Krisztina Gyimes, University of Southern California
Nicole Hare, Washington State University
Maddy Johnston, University of Washington, coxswain
Daphne Martschenko – Stanford University
Anna Taylor – Oregon State University
Meaghan Volker – University of California, Los Angeles
Kristy Wentzel – Stanford University 

West Second Team All-Region
Maryann Concannon, Saint Mary’s College of California
Filippa Karrfelt, Stanford University
Erica Mayer, University of San Diego, coxswain
Vineta Moca, University of Southern California
Patricia Obee, University of Washington
Kara Soucek, Gonzaga University
Alice White, University of California, Los Angeles
Ruth Whyman, University of Washington

2014 CRCA Scholar Athletes, University of Washington
Hannah Allen, Pre-Major Arts & Sciences
Madeleine Cordner, Geography
Reilly Dever, Pre-Science
Eleni Englert, Pre-Social Science
Madeline Johnston, Medical Anthropology
Hannah Lukanuski, Comparative Literature
Ruth Whyman, Journalism

Washington Women's Rowing
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets