Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Tyler Davis was 4-0 with a 0.91 ERA in five March starts.
Davis Among Mid-Season Golden Spikes Award Watch List
Release: 04/10/2014
Print RSS

DURHAM, N.C. -- USA Baseball released its 50-man midseason Golden Spikes Award watch list on Thursday, and Washington Huskies junior right-handed pitcher Tyler Davis was among those one step closer to being named the top amateur baseball player in the country.

Davis, from Mountain View, Calif., pitched his way from national obscurity to national prominence in the month of March. He was 4-0 with a 0.91 ERA in five March starts.

For the season, Davis is 6-1 with a 1.16 earned run average. He has allowed six earned runs in 46 2/3 innings. He has struck out 29 and walked just four batters. In the Pac-12 rankings, he is second in ERA, second in wins, tied for second in runs allowed (9) and tied for first in fewest bases on balls allowed.

Last week, Davis was the Pac-12 Pitcher of the Week after leading the Huskies to a 1-0 win over No. 18 Oregon. Davis struck out a career high 10 batters in a career-best 7 2/3 innings.

The Golden Spikes watch list will continue to be a “rolling” list until May 27 -- when the semifinalists for the award are announced -- ensuring that athletes can play themselves into consideration for the award.  The Golden Spikes Award trophy will be awarded live in Los Angeles on July 17.

Twenty-three new players were added to the list since its initial release on February 14, joining 27 others from the preseason watch list. The Southeastern Conference led all conferences in watch list players, placing nine on the midseason update, while 17 different NCAA conferences had at least one athlete on the list. The Atlantic Coast Conference had six athletes on the list.

USA Baseball officials will announce the 30-man watch list for the 2014 Golden Spikes Award on Thursday, May 8. USA Baseball will then release the semifinalists on Tuesday, May 27. The list of athletes will then be sent to a voting body consisting of Golden Spikes Award winners, past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel, and current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.  

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2014.  Tuesday, May 27, marks the day when amateur baseball fans from across the country will be able to vote for their favorite semifinalist on  As part of this selection process all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of names. 

In 2006, TIm Lincecum became the first Huskies player be named a finalist and win the award.

Important 2014 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award dates include:

Friday, Feb. 14: 60-man preseason watch list released, shaped by USA Baseball officials and advisors

Thursday, April 10: 50-man midseason watch list released, shaped by USA Baseball officials and advisors

Thursday, May 8: 30-man watch list, shaped by USA Baseball officials and advisors

Tuesday, May 27: Semifinalists announced, selected by USA Baseball officials; semifinalist voting begins; voters to select three

Friday, May 30: Deadline to vote for finalists, 5 p.m. ET

Tuesday, June 3: Finalists announced; finalist voting begins; voters to select one

Friday, June 13: Deadline to vote for winner, 5 p.m. ET

Thursday, July 17: Golden Spikes Award presentation

The complete 2014 preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List is as follows:

Name, Position, Class, School (in order of last name, new players bolded)

Brady Aiken, LHP, Senior, Cathedral Catholic (Calif.) HS

Brian Anderson, IF, Junior, Arkansas

Brett Austin, C, Junior, NC State

Tyler Beede, RHP, Junior, Vanderbilt

Aaron Brown, OF/LHP, Junior, Pepperdine

Nick Burdi, RHP, Junior, Louisville

Michael Conforto, OF, Junior, Oregon State

Austin Cousino, OF, Junior, Kentucky

J.D. Davis, OF/RHP, Junior, Cal State Fullerton

Tyler Davis, RHP, Junior, Washington

Chris Ellis, RHP, Junior, Mississippi

Joey Epperson, OF/IF, RS-Senior, UC Santa Barbara

Thomas Eshelman, RHP, Sophomore, Cal State Fullerton

Erick Fedde, RHP, Junior, UNLV

Brandon Finnegan, LHP, Junior, TCU

Blake Fox, LHP, Sophomore, Rice

Kyle Freeland, LHP, Junior, Evansville

Clinton Freeman, OF, Sophomore, East Tennessee State

Jeff Gardner, OF, Senior, Louisville

Aaron Garza, RHP, Junior, Houston

Casey Gillaspie, IF, Junior, Wichita State

Grayson Greiner, C, Junior, South Carolina

Chris Haddeland, RHP, Junior, Linfield

Ian Happ, IF, Sophomore, Cincinnati

Seth Harrison, OF, Senior, Louisiana Lafayette

Matt Imhof, LHP, Junior, Cal Poly

Michael Katz, IF, Junior, William & Mary

Nathan Kirby, LHP, Sophomore, Virginia

Ross Kivett, IF, Senior, Kansas State

Ryan McBroom, OF, Senior, West Virginia

Daniel Miles, IF, Junior, Tennessee Tech

DJ Miller, IF, Senior, Delaware State

Corey Miller, RHP, Senior, Pepperdine

Andrew Morales, RHP, Senior, UC Irvine

Michael Murray, RHP, Sophomore, Florida Gulf Coast

Aaron Nola, RHP, Junior, LSU

Mike Papi, OF, Junior, Virginia

Mark Payton, OF, Senior, Texas

Max Pentecost, C, Junior, Kennesaw State

A.J. Reed, LHP/IF, Junior, Kentucky

Kyle Schwarber, C, Junior, Indiana

Kade Scivicque, C, Junior, LSU

Austen Smith, IF, Senior, Alabama

D.J. Stewart, OF, Sophomore, Florida State

Ryan Thompson, RHP, Senior, Campbell

Trent Thornton, RHP, Sophomore, North Carolina

Sam Travis, IF, Junior, Indiana

Luke Weaver, RHP, Sophomore, Florida State

Ben Wetzler, LHP, Senior, Oregon State

Bradley Zimmer, OF, Junior, San Francisco

About the Golden Spikes Award

Since 1978, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first-ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. The 2013 Golden Spikes Award winner was Kris Bryant of the University of San Diego.  Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball players such as Mike Zunino ('12), Bryce Harper (’10), Stephen Strasburg ('09), Buster Posey ('08), David Price (’07), Tim Lincecum (’06), Alex Gordon (’05), Jered Weaver (’04), Rickie Weeks (’03) and Mark Kotsay (’95). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Pat Burrell (’98), Robin Ventura (’88), Jim Abbott (’87), Will Clark (’85), Dave Magadan (’83), Terry Francona (’80), Tim Wallach (’79), and Horner (’78).  For more information, please visit  Fans can follow the Golden Spikes Award on Twitter @USAGoldenSpikes.

About USA Baseball

USA Baseball is the national governing body for the sport of baseball in the United States and is a member of the United States Olympic Committee and the World Baseball Softball Confederation.  The organization selects and trains the World Baseball Classic, World Cup and Pan Am teams (and all other USA Baseball Professional Teams); the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team; the USA Baseball 18U, 15U and 12U National Teams; and the USA Baseball Women’s National Team, all of which participate in various international competitions each year.  USA Baseball also presents the Golden Spikes Award annually to the top amateur baseball player in the country.  For more information, please visit


Washington Baseball
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets