Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Bishop Sankey and Austin Seferian-Jenkins are both among three finalists for national awards.
ASJ, Sankey Named National Award Finalists
Release: 11/25/2013
Print RSS

Washington's Austin Seferian-Jenkins has been named one of three finalists for the John Mackey Award for a second straight season while Bishop Sankey was announced as one of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award, it was announced today.

The winners of both of those awards, along with nine other major awards, will be announced Dec. 12 in Orlando, Fla., at the Home Depot College Football Awards show live on ESPN.

Seferian-Jenkins, a junior from Gig Harbor, Wash., was among the three finalists for the 2012 John Mackey Award, given annually to the nation's top college tight end. Seferian-Jenkins, who holds the UW records for season and career receptions, season and career receiving yards and career touchdowns by a tight end, is the Huskies' third-leading receiver in 2013 with 31 catches for 361 yards. His six receiving touchdowns top the team.

Sankey, a junior from Spokane, Wash., enters this Friday's Apple Cup vs. Washington State just 120 yards shy of Corey Dillon's school record for rushing yards in a season. Sankey, who rushed for 1,439 yards last season, has 1,575 this year, the second-highest total in school history. His 17 rushing touchdowns are also second on the UW single-season list and his 34 career rushing TDs are tied for the school record, alongside Napoleon Kaufman.

The Doak Walker Award is given annually to the nation's top running back. It was first awarded in 1990, when Husky Greg Lewis won the award.




Washington Football
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets