Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Jamie Clark was named the Pac-12 Coach of the Year after leading the Dawgs to the conference title.
Clark Leads Husky Pac-12 Honors
Release: 11/19/2013
Print RSS

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Washington was well represented with the announcement of the end of season Pac-12 awards, including Jamie Clark being named Pac-12 Coach of the Year and Cristian Roldan being named Pac-12 Freshman of the Year.

Clark led the Huskies to Washington’s first Pac-12 title since 2000 as the Dawgs finished 14-1-4, including 6-1-3 in conference. Washington opened the season with a 15-game unbeaten streak, the best in school history, before finishing on a three-game winning streak to claim the Pac-12 title. Clark was also recently named the National Coach of the Year by the publication College Sports Madness.

Roldan has been a revelation in the Washington midfield, scoring six goals and assisting on four others so far this season. The Pico Rivera, Calif., native has three-game winning goals and scored four of his six with his head. Talented with the ball at his feet, Roldan has also shown amazing ability in the air, despite not being a tall player. Roldan was also named to the Pac-12 First Team in addition to being the top freshman.

Joining Roldan on the All-Pac-12 First Team were Darwin Jones and Taylor Peay. Jones has notched six goals and four assists on the season to tie Roldan for the team lead with 16 points. A dynamic offensive threat, Jones has given opposing defenses fits all season. He led the Pac-12 with 82 shots and scored the game-winning goal in overtime to beat SMU, 2-1.

Peay has been the anchor of the Husky defense at center back, helping the Dawgs to a Pac-12 best 14 goals allowed. The senior captain is also a dangerous threat on set pieces, scoring six goals this season. Twice, Peay was the Pac-12 Player of the Week, including his four-goal week against Santa Clara and Portland and after scoring in both games at Stanford and California.

Earning Second Team All-Pac-12 honors for the Dawgs were Michael Harris and James Moberg. Harris is another key member of the Husky defense, but also led the conference with nine assists. Best known for his flip-throw that accounted for eight of his assists, Harris is also dangerous attacking down the right wing and an excellent two-way player.

Moberg has been the Huskies general in the middle of the field, contributing a goal and seven assists so far this year. His steady presence has helped the Huskies hold the ball and attack at the right times. He is also great serving the ball on set pieces, helping account for his seven assists.

Finally, Andy Thoma, Justin Schmidt and Mason Robertson were named honorable mention All-Pac-12. Thoma and Schmidt complete the Husky backline that were all honored by the coaches, while Robertson has scored the game-winning goals in three-straight games to propel the Huskies to the Pac-12 title.

UCLA’s Leo Stolz was named the Pac-12 Player of the Year. Washington and Stanford tied for the most players on the first team with three apiece. California and UCLA each had two, while San Diego State had one.

Washington awaits the winner of Creighton and Seattle U. who play Thursday in the NCAA’s first round. The No. 2-seeded Dawgs received a first-round bye and face either the Redhawks or Blue Jays on Sunday at 5 p.m., at the Husky Soccer Stadium.  

Washington Men's Soccer
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets