Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Conference Honors Four Husky Seniors, Perkins, Callahan
Release: 06/03/2013
Print RSS

June 3, 2013

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – The Pac-12 Conference office announced its All-Conference Rowing teams this week and the top-ranked Huskies were well represented. Seniors Alex Bunkers, Conlin McCabe, Mijo Rudelj, and Ryan Schroeder were all chosen as members of the Men’s Rowing All-Conference team.

Senior and Husky Captain Alex Bunkers was chosen for the second straight year. Fellow seniors Mijo Rudelj and Conlin McCabe also received the honors for a second consecutive year, while Ryan Schroeder was named to his first All-Conference team.

McCabe won a silver medal with Canada’s men’s eight at last summer’s London Olympic games. Bunkers, Rudelj, and Schroeder all have experience rowing internationally. The honors are only appropriate as these four have been leaders for the Washington’s men’s crew program throughout their careers.

Alex Perkins of Washington helped the Huskies capture their fourth consecutive Pac-12 title and 3rd consecutive IRA title as a member of their unbeaten varsity eight crew. He was instrumental in claiming dual race victories over ranked opponents Stanford (No. 4), California (No. 6) and Oregon State (No. 20). In the fall, the Westport, Conn., product sat bow seat in the championship eight that won a gold medal at the Head of the Charles Regatta in Boston. Perkins, who was a member of the Huskies’ novice eight boat as a freshman last season, rowed for the 2011 U.S. Junior National Team. 

Head coach Michael Callahan was also chosen as the conference’s coach of the year. This is the fourth time in a row and 5th time in the last six years that Callahan has received the highest coaching honors form the conference. The 1996 graduate of UW and former Husky oarsmen continues his remarkable run of success since taking over the program in 2008. In this short time frame, Callahan has now won four National Championships and five conference titles.

Members of the All-Conference rowing teams are based upon each institution’s finish in the varsity eight race at the Pac-12 Championships, which were held May 19 on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif. The conference champion provides four members of the All-Conference team, the Pac-12 second-place crew provides three members and the third-place finisher provides two. All other participating conference crews receive one selection each.


Alex Bunkers, Washington*

Eric DeMaris, Washington State

Austin Hack, Stanford*

Jovan Jovanovic, California

Oivind Lorentzen, Stanford

Conlin McCabe, Washington*

Cole Reiser, California

Mijo Rudelj, Washington*

Ryan Schroeder, Washington

Kaess Smit, Stanford

Chad Swenson, Oregon State

Sam Tobey, Colorado

* Second career All-Conference selection

** Third career All-Conference selection

Washington Men's Rowing
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets