Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Varsity 8 Named SAOTW
Release: 06/03/2013
Print RSS

June 3, 2013

SEATTLE - The men's Varsity 8 boat has been named the SAOTW for the week of May 27-June 2.

The Huskies made history on the final day of the IRA Championship Regatta at Lake Natoma, three-peating as national champions after a dominating performance at the 111th Annual IRA National Championships.

The No. 1 Huskies capped a perfect weekend by sweeping all five grand finals to win their third-consecutive and 16th overall National Championship. Washington also won its seventh-consecutive Ten Eyck Award, given to the team that earns the most overall points. The Huskies broke their own record in the IRA history books, with no team ever winning more than four Ten Eyck awards in a row until the Huskies made it five in 2011, six in 2012, and now seven in 2013.

The last team to win three or more IRA Championships in a row was Washington's Pac-12 rival California, who won four consecutive title from 1999-2002, but never swept all five finals as the Huskies have done the past two years. The Huskies re-wrote the Washington record books, becoming the first team in Washington men's rowing long and storied history to win three consecutive championship rings.

No team in any other collegiate sport has been as dominant as the Washington men have been during their championship stretch. Since head coach Michael Callahan took over the men's program from women's coach Bob Ernst, the program has won four national titles, finished second twice, never lost a Ten Eyck award and accomplished a feat no other program in collegiate rowing has ever accomplished--sweeping every IRA category at the finals. And they've done that twice now.

By the 1000 meter mark Washington had taken control of the race and it was clear that nobody was going to be able to catch the determined Huskies. As it should be, Washington crossed the line with their fastest time of the season--5:39.68--to extend the varsity eight's undefeated streak--now at three years. The Huskies haven't lost since the 2010 IRA varsity eight final, a mind-boggling streak in any sport.

Other nominees include: Chris Williams (men's golf), second Varsity 4 (women's rowing) and Victoria Hayward (softball).

Washington Men's Rowing
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets