Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Flood Named Pac-10 Newcomer Of The Year
Release: 12/01/2010
Print RSS

Dec. 1, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Husky freshman Katie Flood was named the Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year, it was announced today by conference commissioner Larry Scott. Flood also earned All-Pac-10 First Team honors with her top-seven finish at the Pac-10 Championships.

A native of Des Moines, Iowa, Flood was one of the nation's top recruits after winning the 2009 Nike Team Nationals individual cross country title. But after an illustrious senior track season, Flood developed a stress fracture over the summer. Heading into the fall, she was initially expected to redshirt, but her recovery went faster than expected, and Flood made her UW debut at the Pre-National Meet on October 16, a month into Washington's season. She placed 23rd in that first race, second on the team.

Two weeks later, Flood stepped up huge with a sixth-place finish at the Pac-10 Championships that the Huskies hosted at Jefferson Park Golf Course. She was the top finishing freshman, leading UW to a tie for third. Next came West Regionals, where Flood duplicated her sixth-place finish, again as the top freshman in the West, to lead the Huskies to the Regional victory and a spot at Nationals.

At her first NCAA Championships, Flood led the Huskies once again, placing 78th overall and was again the sixth-highest finisher out of the Pac-10.

Senior Mel Lawrence (Reno, Nev.) also earned a place on the All-Pac-10 Second Team after First Team honors the past two seasons and a Second Team honor as a freshman. Lawrence wrapped her cross country career as a two-time All-American, but the three-time track All-American still has two full seasons left on the track. Lawrence was 10th at the Pac-10 Cross Country Championships this year, her third-straight Top-10 finish.

Flood is the third Husky to earn the Newcomer of the Year honors, which were first awarded in 1999. Tori Tyler first earned the honor in 2005, and current UW junior Christine Babcock was named the conference's top newcomer in 2008.

Washington Cross Country
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets