Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Men's Crew Honored For 2009 IRA Championships
Release: 10/11/2009
Print RSS

Oct. 11, 2009

SEATTLE - The University of Washington honored the men's crew team for their impressive accomplishments at the 2009 IRA National Championships on Saturday night.

Each rower in the four championship boats grabbed their oars and made their way on the field at halftime of the Huskies football game against Arizona, along with coxswains and members of the coaching staff, to the applause of the 61,621 in attendance. There they watched the HuskyTron display the final two minutes of the varsity eight race, which showed Washington's dramatic finishing kick, coming back from third place to topple rivals Cal and Stanford in Rancho Cordova, Calif.

It was all part of an eventful evening for the program, which was also honored with a pregame tailgate inside the Big W club tent at The Zone. Before the game, head coach Michael Callahan, along with athletic director Scott Woodward, discussed their National Championship on KJR with host Dave "Softy" Mahler.

"When you see a team and a program dominate year in and year out, it's what we're about," Woodward said. "It's about winning championships, and Michael's team and (rowing director and women's coach) Bob Ernst's leadership over the years have just been tremendous. It's where we want all our sports to get, where you expect to win National Championships every year."

Callahan gave special mention to the former five seat of last year's varsity eight, Rob Gibson, who also captured a silver medal in the 2009 World Championships in Poland with Team Canada. Varsity eight coxswain Katelin Snyder also received mention on-air for her gold medal at the World Championships, where she coxed the United States women's eight to a win.

When asked about sustaining success of the crew program at Washington, Callahan ticked off everything from the hard work of his athletes to how the alumni remain interwoven into the fabric of the team, as well as the administrative support the team receives.

"We have a tremendous athletic department behind rowing," Callahan said.

The winning members of those boats include:

Varsity Eight Cox- Katelin Snyder, stroke- Will Crothers, 7- Simon Taylor, 6- Jessiah Johnson, 5- Rob Gibson, 4- Bart-Jan Caron, 3- Anthony Jacob, 2- Hans Struzyna, bow- Max Lang.

Second Varsity Eight Cox- Michelle Darby, stroke- Nenad Bulicic, 7- Lowell Neal, 6- Matt Zapel, 5- Ty Otto, 4- Blaise Didier, 3- Roko Svast, 2- Bede Clarke, bow- Stephen Connolly.

Freshman Eight Cox- Laura Denman, stroke- Mathis Jessen, 7- Tom Lehmann, 6- Conlin McCabe, 5- Jay Thompson, 4- Justin Hopkins, 3- Robert Munn, 2- Ambrose Puttmann, bow- Jeffrey Gibbs.

Open Four Cox- Valaree Fowler, stroke- Niles Garratt, 3- Noah O'Connell, 2- Alan Meininghaus, bow- Peter Carlson.

Washington Rowing
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets