Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Brown and Thompson Named Pac-10 Medal Winners
Release: 06/14/2007
Print RSS

June 14, 2007

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Washington men's track and field standout Ryan Brown and women's volleyball star Courtney Thompson have been named 2006-07 Pacific-10 Conference Medal winners, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today. A Conference Medal is awarded annually to each Pac-10 member institution's outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.

Brown, from Renton, Wash., led the Washington track and field team to its highest finish in 22 years at the 2007 NCAA Track and Field Championships with a third place finish in the 800-meters (1:47.77). Brown's third place finish capped off one of the most distinguished careers in UW track and field history, including two NCAA titles, two Pac-10 titles, three NCAA West Regional crowns and nine All-America honors. Only one Husky - seven-time NCAA champion Scott Neilson - has earned more national crowns, and only Olympic sprinter Ja'Warren Hooker boasts more career All-America awards (10). The Huskies' men's team finish was its highest at the NCAA outdoor meet since 1985, and capped a banner year for the UW men's team, which placed 12th at the 2006 NCAA Cross Country Championships and seventh at the 2007 NCAA Indoor Championships, and won its second-consecutive indoor track conference title.

Thompson, from Kent, Wash., led the women's volleyball team to its third-consecutive NCAA semifinal match and after leading the nation with 14.50 assists per game and guiding the Dawgs to the second-best hitting percentage in the league (.287). Thomspon closed out her Washington career as the most decorated player in program history, earning three All-America Awards, two Setter of the Year honors, the 2006 Seattle PI Sports Star of the Year award and the 2005 Honda Award recognizing the top volleyball player in the country. She set the Pac-10 record and ranks third on the NCAA all-time chart with 6,531 career assists and became just the second player in Pac-10 history to amass 6,000-plus career assists.

The Conference Medal winners will be honored at the State Farm Pride of the Pac-10 Luncheon held in Los Angeles in conjunction with the Pac-10 Men's Basketball Tournament next March. Following is a complete listing of the 2006-07 award winners:

Adam Ritter, Swimming
Whitney Myers, Swimming

Arizona State
Niklas Lemke, Golf
Amy Hastlings, Track & Field

John Mann, Water Polo
Jillian Davis, Volleyball

Jordan Kent, Football
Nicole Garbin, Soccer

Oregon State
Mitch Canham, Baseball
Natalie Johnson, Softball

Ben Wildman-Tobriner, Swimming
Cassidy Krug, Diving

Andrew Baumgartner, Football
Jackkie Nguyen, Track & Field

Pavol Valovic, Water Polo
Anca Anastasiu, Tennis

Ryan Brown, Track & Field
Courtney Thompson, Volleyball

Washington State
Jason Hill, Football
Diana Pickler, Track & Field

Washington Track & Field
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets