Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Washington-LSU Game Notes
Release: 09/06/2009
Print RSS

Recap |  Final Stats |  Quotes |  Photo Gallery 

  • A number of Huskies made their playing debuts in the Purple and Gold tonight. Freshman WR James Johnson and RS-freshman safety Greg Walker started the game. Also playing for the first time in their UW careers: sophomore PK Erik Folk, sophomore TE Chris Izbicki, freshman DE Andru Pulu, RS-freshman CB Justin Glenn, freshman DT Semisi Tokolahi, freshman CB Desmond Trufant, RS-freshman OT Drew Schaefer, junior P Will Mahan.

  • Sophomore tailback Johri Fogerson's first college touch as an offensive player (he played safety last season as a freshman) was a 51-yard reception on a third-and-12 screen pass from Jake Locker.

  • Freshman wide receiver James Johnson's first career touch was a 17-yard touchdown pass from Locker, the first score of the game.

  • Husky quarterback Jake Locker had thrown 98 passes without an interception prior to the INT for a touchdown from LSU's Jacob Cutrera (29 yards) in the first quarter. He threw 93 interception-free attempts last year and had five in the game prior to the pick. His final pass of the 2007 at Hawai'i was picked off.

  • Last season, in two games, UW tailback Chris Polk totaled 33 rushing yards. By the 5:15 mark of the first quarter, he had 53 rushing yards, including 33 on one play. At the end of one quarter, he had 66 rushing yards, exactly double last year's total. Polk started the first two games of 2008, but then ended up taking a medical redshirt season due to an injury.

  • Sophomore kicker Erik Folk made his first career field goal attempt, a 34-yarder in the second quarter.

  • Washington didn't punt the ball until there was 3:49 remaining in the second quarter.

  • Today's "Lucky Dawg," the child who accompanied the Husky captains for the coin toss, was Nathaniel Omli, a 10-year old from Snohomish, Wash.

  • Today, the Dave & Ruth Cohn Alumni Merit Award and the Frank Orrico Award were presented after the first quarter. The Cohn Award is given to a former UW letterwinner who has shown a special commitment to Husky Athletics. The winner of the Cohn Award was former UW gymnast Denish Ashbaugh, who has served a vital role in the Big W Club. The Orrico Award is given to a Tyee member who demonstrates an uncommon level of dedication to Husky Athletics. This year's winner was Col. Don Wiethuechter, a long-time Tyee and a founding member of the Tyee Sports Council.
  • Washington Football
    BB Tickets
    Uploaded Ad
    Husky Tickets