Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Thomas Nominated For Cousy Award
Release: 12/21/2010
Print RSS

Dec. 21, 2010

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts announced the candidates for the 2011 Bob Cousy Award and Washington Husky junior guard Isaiah Thomas is among the candidates being considered for the award. The annual award, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes college basketball's top point guard.

A total of 66 players have been nominated for the 2011 award. Nominations were solicited from all schools across the country.

"The Hall of Fame is proud to once again work with Mr. Cousy and to present one of college basketball's most coveted awards," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "This list represents a wide range of college basketball's top players and we look forward to honoring the legacy of Mr. Cousy with this year's award winner."

Thomas was a first-team all-Pac-10 player as a sophomore and was the conference's 2009 Freshman of the Year. He is averaging a team-best 15.0 points per game and also 3.9 assists. Thomas is currently ranked 22nd all-time on the UW scoring list with 1,284 career points.

This original list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 by January 3rd, final 10 by February 3rd, and final five by March 3rd. A Hall of Fame appointed screening committee will be narrowing down the candidates from 20 to 10 to 5 prior to a Blue Ribbon Selection Committee evaluating the final five candidates and ultimately choosing the winner. Both of the Hall of Fame committee's are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2011 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Monday April 4th in Houston as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included: Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina) and Greivis Vasquez (Maryland). For more information on the 2011 Bob Cousy Award, log onto

Bob Cousy Award Candidates

Aaron Johnson, UAB
AJ Rompza, UCF
AJ Walton, Baylor University
Alec Burks, University of Colorado
Alex Tucker, Florida Atlantic University
Brandon Knight, University of Kentucky
Brendan McKillop, Davidson College
Brock Young, East Carolina University
Bruce Ellington, South Carolina
Bryan Dougher, Stony Brook University
Cameron Wells, The Citadel
Casper Ware, Long Beach State
Chaisson Allen, Northeastern University
Chris Warren, Ole Miss
Chris Wroblewski, Cornell University
Corey Fisher, Villanova University
DeAndre Brown, Louisiana Tech
Demetri McCamey, University of Illinois
Demontez Stitt, Clemson University
Derek Needham, Fairfield University
Derwin Kitchen, Florida State University
Devin Gibson, UTSA
Devon Moore, James Madison University
Diante Garrett, Iowa State University
DJ Cooper, Ohio University
DJ Gay, San Diego State University
Hank Thorns, TCU
Isaiah Thomas, University of Washington
Jacob Pullen, Kansas State University
Jay Threatt, Delaware State
Jimmer Fredette, BYU
Joe Jakubowski, Bowling Green State
Joey Rodriguez, VCU
John Ashworth, IUPUI
Jordan Callahan, Tulane University
Jordan Taylor, University of Wisconsin
Juan Fernandez, Temple University
Julyan Stone, UTEP
Junard Hartley, Campbell University
Juwan Staten, University of Dayton
Kalin Lucas, Michigan State University
Keegan Bell, Chattanooga
Keiton Page, Oklahoma State University
Kemba Walker, University of Connecticut
Kevin Anderson, Richmond
Kevin White, Maryland Eastern Shore
Kwadzo Ahelegbe, Northern Iowa
Kyrie Irving, Duke University
Lewis Jackson, Purdue University
Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech
Marquis Jones, University of Rhode Island
Michael Dixon Jr., University of Missouri
Mickey McConnell, Saint Mary's College
Mike Williams, Western Carolina
Nolan Smith, Duke University
Norris Cole, Cleveland State University
O.J. Avworo, Navy
Phil Pressey University of Missouri
Randy Davis, Ball State University
Reggie Moore, Washington State
Scott Machado, Iona College
Talor Battle, Penn State
Tu Holloway, Xavier University
Tyshawn Taylor, University of Kansas
Zac Swansey, Tennessee Tech University
Zack Rosen, University of Pennsylvania

Washington Men's Basketball
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets