Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Hopoi Named Second-Team All-Pac-10
Release: 11/29/2004
Print RSS

Nov. 29, 2004

Walnut Creek, CA - Washington senior defensive tackle Manase Hopoi was a second-team selection when the Pac-10 Conference announced its postseason honors today. He was joined by junior linebacker Joe Lobendahn and senior cornerback Derek Johnson, who received honorable mention honors.

Hopoi had 54 tackles this season and leads the Pac-10 with 22 tackles for loss, one shy of Washington's single-season record. Hopoi's tackles for loss tally ranks second among Division I defenders. He also totaled nine sacks during the year, the ninth best single-season mark in UW history.

A senior, Hopoi can regain a final year of eligibility if he graduates on time with his class. He is on schedule to accomplish that. This year he played both defensive tackle and defensive end due to injuries on the Washington line.

Lobendahn was second on the team with 100 tackles despite missing the final game of the year due to a broken wrist. Johnson finished the season with 51 tackles.

The All-Pac-10 team, selected by the conference coaches, named quarterback Matt Leinart and tailback Reggie Bush of USC co-offensive players of the year, linemen Bill Swancutt of Oregon State and Shaun Cody of USC the Pat Tillman co-defensive players of the year, tight end Zach Miller of Arizona State freshman of the year and Jeff Tedford of California coach of the year.

2004 All-Pac-10 Team

First Team Offense QB Aaron Rodgers, Jr., California QB Matt Leinart, Jr., USC RB J.J. Arrington, Sr., California RB Reggie Bush, So., USC WR Mike Hass, Jr., Oregon State WR Geoff McArthur, Sr., California TE Alex Smith, Sr., Stanford C Marvin Philip, Jr., California OL Calvin Armstrong, Sr., Washington State OL Ryan O'Callaghan, Jr., California OL Grayling Love, Jr., Arizona State OL Doug Nienhuis, Sr., Oregon State OL Adam Snyder, Sr., Oregon

First Team Defense DL Bill Swancutt, Sr., Oregon State DL Mike Patterson, Sr., USC DL Shaun Cody, Sr., USC DL Ryan Riddle, Sr., California LB Matt Grootegoed, Sr., USC LB Lofa Tatupu, Jr., USC LB Wendell Hunter, Sr., California DB Mitch Meeuwsen, Sr., Oregon State DB Matt Clark, Sr., UCLA DB Matt Giordano, Sr., California DB Riccardo Stewart, Sr., Arizona State

First Team Specialists PK Justin Medlock, So., UCLA P Tom Malone, Jr., USC KOR T.J. Rushing, Jr., Stanford PR Reggie Bush, So., USC ST Michael Okwo, So., Stanford

ST=special teams player (not a kicker or returner)

Second Team Offense QB Andrew Walter, Grad., Arizona State QB Derek Anderson, Sr., Oregon State RB LenDale White, So., USC RB Maurice Drew, So., UCLA WR Derek Hagen, Jr., Arizona State WR Jason Hill, So., Washington State TE Tim Day, Jr., Oregon TE Marcedes Lewis, Jr., UCLA C Mike McCloskey, Jr., UCLA OL Sam Lightbody, Sr., Washington State OL Steven Vieira, Sr., UCLA OL Sam Baker, Fr., USC OL Andrew Carnahan, Sr., Arizona State

Second Team Defense DL Haloti Ngata, So., Oregon DL Jimmy Verdon, Sr., Arizona State DL Manase Hopoi, Sr., Washington DL Lorenzo Alexander, Sr., California LB Will Derting, Jr., Washington State LB Spencer Havner, Jr., UCLA LB Jon Alston, Jr., Stanford LB Trent Bray, Jr., Oregon State DB Darrell Brooks, Jr., Arizona DB Aric Williams, Sr., Oregon State DB Darnell Bing, So., USC DB Brandon Browner, So., Oregon State

Second Team Specialists PK Alexis Serna, Fr., Oregon State P Chris Kluwe, Sr., UCLA KOR Reggie Bush, So., USC PR Maurice Drew, So., UCLA PR Michael Bumpus, Fr., Washington State ST Desmond Reed, Fr., USC ST Byron Storer, So., California

ST=special teams player (not a kicker or returner)

Co-Offensive Players of the Year: Matt Lienart, QB, Jr., USC and Reggie Bush, TB, So., USC Pat Tillman Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Bill Swancutt, DE, Sr., Oregon State and Shaun Cody, DT, Sr., USC Freshman of the Year: Zach Miller, TE, Arizona State Coach of the Year: Jeff Tedford, California

Washington Football
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets