Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Three Huskies Earn First Team All-America Honors
Release: 07/31/2002
Print RSS

July 31, 2002

Ann Arbor, Mich. - The women on Washington's NCAA champion varsity eight-oared crew continue to earn recognition for their achievements during the 2002 season as three Huskies were honored on the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) All-America Team that was announced Wednesday.

Recent graduates Anna Mickelson (Bellevue,Wash.) and Mary Whipple (Sacramento, Calif.) along with senior-to-be Heidi Hurn (Redmond, Wash.) all earned first team honors on the prestigious team that includes 22 women from Division I institutions around the country. Washington was the only school to have three women on the first team.

Mickelson, Whipple and Hurn all were a part of Washington's undefeated varsity eight that captured the NCAA championship on Eagle Creek in Indianapolis back on June 2. The title, which the Huskies' also won in 2001, was Washington's fourth in the event since 1997.

Whipple, UW's varsity coxswain for three years, is a three-time first team all-American. Mickelson, also a three-year varsity rower and a 2002 CRCA Academic All-American, earned second team honors as a sophomore and first team honors as a junior. Hurn earned the all-America honor after her first season in the varsity boat.

Mickelson and Whipple are coming off a gold medal performance in the women's elite eight race at the USRowing National Championship Regatta in Camden, N.J. last weekend. The pair competed as a part of the Princeton Training Center A team, with whom they are in U.S. National Team training camp at the Princeton campus. Hurn also competed last weekend, at the World Under-23 Regatta in Genoa, Italy and earned a silver medal in the women's pair with former teammate Kara Nykreim (Kirkland, Wash.).

The CRCA All-America award, in its fourth year, is designed to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of female rowers and coxswains during the current season. The All-America first and second teams were selected by the regional chairpersons following the NCAA Championships from the rowers who had received All-Region first team honors. For each of the five regions, 12 rowers and, if nominated, a coxswain received first team honors and were eligible for national recognition.

2002 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Awards

First Team

Rosemary Branson-Gill - Brown University
Krista Buzzell - Michigan State University
Megan Cooke - University of California, Berkeley
Madeline Engel - University of Virginia
Aimee Fox - Clemson University
Joanna Hingle - Duke University
Heidi Hurn - University of Washington
Sarah-Jane Irwin - University of Pennsylvania
Connie Kirsch - Ohio State University
Sabrina Kolker - Stanford University
Jillian Kott - Syracuse University
Katie Lakin - Duke University
Jessica Lanning - Brown University
Tamara McBratney - University of Michigan
Melissa Merritt - Yale University
Christina Meyer - University of Michigan
Anna Mickelson - University of Washington
Lia Pernell - Princeton University
Kate Phillips - Princeton University
Jennifer Reck - University of Virginia
Kate Wetmore - Yale University
Mary Whipple - University of Washington (coxswain)
Washington Rowing
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets