MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here
Two Washington Crews Advance to Grand Finals at NCAA Championships
Release: 05/26/2007
Send Mail Print RSS
Related Links

May 26, 2007

Live Results | Live Video

OAK RIDGE, TENN. - The Washington junior varsity eight and varsity four crews both earned spots in Sunday's Grand Finals at the 2007 NCAA Rowing Championships on Melton Hill Lake. The UW varsity eight will race against California, Central Florida and UCLA in the "C" Final.

Washington's junior varsity crew, who finished third in yesterday's heat, crossed the finish line in 6:39.92, the top time in both of today's repechage races. The Huskies edged out second place Minnesota in their race today, besting the Gophers by less than three-tenths of a second. The Huskies and Gophers both qualified for Sunday's race along with Ohio State and California, as well as Friday's heat winners Brown and Virginia.

In the varsity four race, Washington captured a spot in the grand finals with a second-place finish in their repechage race, posting a time of 7:35.61. The all-freshman Husky crew will take on California, Princeton, Yale, Virginia and Brown in the grand finals tomorrow morning.

Racing will begin on the Melton Hill Lake course with the Division II Finals at 9:45 a.m. (ET)/6:45 a.m. (PT). The Huskies will race in the varsity fours grand final at 10:45 a.m. (ET)/7:45 a.m. (PT), in the second eights grand final at 11:15 a.m. (ET)/8:15 a.m. (PT) and the varsity eights "C" final at 11:30 a.m./8:30 a.m. (PT).

2007 NCAA Championships
Melton Hill Lake - Oak Ridge, Tenn.
Day Two Results * Saturday, May 26

Second Varsity Eights
Repechage 1
1. Ohio State, 6:41.05; 2. California, 6:42.70; 3. Yale, 6:43.20; 4. Harvard, 6:47.32; 5. Princeton, 6:59.12
Repechage 2
1. Washington, 6:39.92; 2. Minnesota, 6:40.19; 3. Tennessee, 6:47.39; 4. Southern California, 6:50.08; 5. Notre Dame, 6:57.33 UW Lineup: cox- Sofia Benson-Goldberg; stroke- Liz Simenstad; 7- Jamie Unwin; 6- Corianne Bowman; 5- Erika Sweet; 4- Charlene Franklin; 3- Kelly Foster; 2- Samantha Smith; bow- Andrea Smith

Varsity Fours
Repechage 1
1. California, 7:30.33; 2. Princeton, 7:31.98; 3. Southern California, 7:33.35; 4. Harvard, 7:42.19; 5. Tennessee, 7:49.55
Repechage 2
1. Yale, 7:33.59; 2. Washington, 7:35.61; 3. Minnesota, 7:37.64; 4. Notre Dame, 7:47.43; 5. Ohio State, 7:47.59
UW Lineup: cox- Maggie Cheek; stroke- Jen Dwyer; 3- Rosie DeBoef; 2- Erin Knox; bow- Kayleigh Mack

Washington Crew
RUN WITH US
advertisement
Spring Preview 14
Advertisement
Pac-12 Networks