Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Te'o-Nesheim Named To Bednarik Watch List
Release: 08/13/2009
Print RSS

Aug. 13, 2009

Washington defensive end Daniel Te'o-Nesheim is one of 55 players named to the watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given annually to the nation's top defensive player.

Te'o-Nesheim, a senior from Waikoloa, Hawai'i, has started all 37 games of his UW career. Last year, he notched 65 tackles and led the Huskies with eight sacks and 11.5 tackles for loss.

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski today announced the 2009 Watch List the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award. The list is comprised of fifty-five players who were selected based on their performance during the 2008 season.

The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagle great. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced on November 4th and three finalists for the award will be announced November 23rd. The winner of the 2009 Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 10, 2009. The formal presentation of this award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala in Atlantic City on March 5, 2010.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2009 season unfolds.

All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

The Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

Here is the complete list:

Alem, Rahim, LSU, DE, SR
Angerer, Pat, Iowa, LB, SR
Atkins, Geno, Georgia , DT, SR
Austin, Marvin, North Carolina, DT, JR
Beal, Jeremy, Oklahoma, DE, JR
Berry, Eric, Tennessee, S, JR
Bowman, Navorro, Penn State, LB, JR
Burnett, Morgan, Georgia Tech, S, JR
Carter, Reggie, UCLA, LB, SR
Cody, Terrence, Alabama, DT, SR
Coleman, Antonio, Auburn, DE, SR
Curran, Rennie, Georgia, LB, JR
Davis, Dexter, Arizona State, DE, SR
D'Imperio, Ryan, Rutgers, LB, SR
Dunlap, Carlos, Florida, DE, JR
Graham, Brandon, Michigan, DE, SR
Hardy, Greg, Ole Miss, DE, SR
Hughes, Jerry, TCU, DE, SR
Jones, Arthur, Syracuse, DT, SR
Jones, Greg, Michigan State, LB, JR
Kindle, Sergio, Texas, DE, SR
Kirlew, Jammie, Indiana, DE, SR
Kristick, Keaton, Oregon State, LB, SR
Lee, Sean, Penn State, LB, SR
Lewis, Travis, Oklahoma, LB, SO
Lindley, Trevard, Kentucky, CB, SR
Lutrus, Scott, Connecticut, LB, JR
Mays, Taylor, USC, S, SR
McClain, Rolando, Alabama, LB, JR
McCoy, Gerald, Oklahoma, DT, JR
McCoy, Rico, Tennessee, LB, SR
Muckelroy, Roddrick, Texas, LB, SR
Norwood, Eric, South Carolina, LB, SR
Odrick, Jared, Penn State, DT, SR
Oghobaase, Vince, Duke, DT, SR
Pawelek, Joe, Baylor, LB, SR
Price, Brian, UCLA, DT, JR
Romeus, Greg, Pittsburgh, DE, JR
Selvie, George, South Florida, DE, SR
Sheppard, Malcolm, Arkansas, DT, SR
Spikes, Brandon, Florida, LB, SR
Stuckey, Darrell, Kansas, S, SR
Sturdivant, Quan, North Carolina, LB, JR
Suh, Ndamukong, Nebraska, DT, SR
Te'o-Nesheim, Daniel, Washington, DE, SR
Thompson, Syd'Quan, Cal, CB, SR
Tukuafu, Will, Oregon, DE, SR
Verner, Alterraun, UCLA, CB, SR
Weatherspoon, Sean, Missouri, LB, SR
Williams, Reed, West Virginia, LB, SR
Wilson, Kyle, Boise State, CB, SR
Wootton, Corey, Northwestern, DE, SR
Worilds, Jason, Virginia Tech, DE, JR
Wujciak, Alex, Maryland, LB, JR
Young, Willie, NC State, DE, SR

Much of the text of the above provided by the Maxwell Football Club.

Washington Football
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets