Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Four Huskies Earn Pac-10 Honorable Mention
Release: 05/21/2001
Print RSS

May 21, 2001

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Four University of Washington baseball players All-Pacific-10 Conference honorable mention, though no Husky made the first team, which was announced today by Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen.

Senior Marc Rittenhouse, junior Michael Done, junior Shawn Kohn and sophomore Tyler Davidson were the four Huskies to earn mention. Arizona State catcher Casey Myers was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year while USC right-hander Mark Prior earned Pitcher of the Year.

Stanford outfielder Carlos Quentin took the Freshman of the Year award while California's David Esquer was named Coach of the Year after leading the Bears to a third-place finish and a spot in the NCAA tournament.

Rittenhouse, a second baseman from Bellevue, Wash., batted .375 in his final season as the Huskies' leadoff man. Rittenhouse missed more than half of his senior year after undergoing thumb surgery early in the year, but still finished his career fifth in UW history in both career runs and career walks. His 19 career homers rank him ninth all-time.

Done, a third baseman from Littleton, Colo., led the Husky regulars with his .342 batting average and with seven home runs. He also had 15 doubles and 36 runs batted in. Davidson, an outfielder from Edmonds, Wash., batted .337 with six homers and 42 RBI.

Kohn, a right-handed pitcher from Woodinville, Wash., emerged as the Husky ace in mid- season. He finished the year 6-2 with a 2.57 earned run average, the lowest by a Husky starter since 1993. Four weeks ago, he led the NCAA in earned run average with a 0.78 mark at the time. He worked 80.2 innings, allowing only 60 hits and 15 walks while striking out 65.

Here is the complete 2001 All-Pacific-10 Conference baseball team:

Name                School         Pos.
Rod Allen           Arizona St.    OF
Stefan Bailie       Washington St. 1B
Brian Barden        Oregon St.     3B
Brian Baron         UCLA           DH
Brian Barre         USC            OF
Chris Biles         Oregon St.     OF
Josh Canales        UCLA           2B
Brooks Conrad       Arizona St.    2B
Rik Currier         USC            RHP
Seth Davidson       USC            SS
Shelley Duncan      Arizona        OF
Ernie Durazo        Arizona        1B
Chris Duffy         Arizona St.    OF
Ben Francisco       UCLA           OF
Sam Fuld            Stanford       OF
Bryan Ingram        Oregon St.     C
Scott Nicholson     Oregon St.     LHP
Chris O'Riordan     Stanford       2B
Carlos Quentin      Stanford       OF
Carson White        California     2B

Player of the Year: Casey Myers, Sr., C, Arizona State Pitcher of the Year: Mark Prior, Jr., RHP, USC Freshman of the Year: Carlos Quentin, OF, Stanford Coach of the Year: David Esquer, California

Honorable Mention (UW Players Only): Tyler Davidson (Soph. OF), Michael Done (Junior 3B), Marc Rittenhouse (Senior 2B), Shawn Kohn (Junior RHP).

Washington Baseball
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets