Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Wilcox Named MVP At UW Men's Basketball Banquet
Release: 04/16/2013
Print RSS
Photo Gallery

SEATTLE -- The Washington Husky men's basketball team capped its 2012-13 season with the annual awards banquet held on Tuesday and junior guard C.J. Wilcox went home with the MVP award.

Wilcox, who was Second Team All-Pac-12, was named the 950 KJR Most Valuable Player after leading the team in scoring with 16.8 points per game. He also led the team in minutes played and 3-point makes with 2.2 per game.

Wilcox was among Pac-12 leaders in numerous categories, including: scoring per game (6th), 3-point makes (2nd), minutes (34.8, 7th), blocks (1.1, 14th) and free throw percentage (.816, 6th). He also scored 20+ points 14 times throughout the season, plus his 570 points ranks 11th in UW single-season history.

Senior Aziz N'Diaye walked away with three awards, including the Harshman Award, the Industrial Award and the John Meyers Defensive Player Award for a second-straight season. N'Diaye earned the Harshman Award as the team's top rebounder with 308 rebounds, which makes him the fourth different player in the last 40 years with 300 in a season. He led the Pac-12 with 112 offensive rebounds and had 10+ rebounds in team-high 18 games. The Industrial Award honors the hardest working player on the court.

Sophomore forward Desmond Simmons was the only other winner of multiple awards. For the second-straight year, he earned the Wurster Award for the team's top hustler and the 101 Club Scholar Athlete Award.

The Hed Edmundson Most Inspirational Award, one of the team's most prestigious honors, went to sophomore forward Martin Breunig.

Senior Abdul Gaddy was named Playmaker of the Year after winning the award last season. The captain was the first UW player with 150+ assists in two seasons, finishing his career as the No. 2 all-time assist leader at UW with 469.

Sophomore Shawn Kemp, Jr. was honored with Most Improved Player. After missing the first seven games due to a left knee injury, the forward averaged 6.3 points and 3.0 rebounds per game - averages he bumped up to 8.4 ppg and 3.4 rpg in 15 starts.

Red-shirt freshman forward Jernard Jarreau received the Coaches Award. He played in 31 games in his first season.

Junior transfer Dion Overstreet and sophomore Quinn Sterling took home the Brandon West Walk On Award.

2012-13 Washington Men's Basketball Team Awards:
KJR MVP: C.J. Wilcox
Most Improved: Shawn Kemp, Jr.
Harshman Award: Aziz N'Diaye
Wurster Award: Desmond Simmons
Industrial Award: Aziz N'Diaye
101 Club Scholar Athlete: Desmond Simmons
Playmaker of the Year: Abdul Gaddy
Jon Meyers Defensive Player: Aziz N'Diaye
Coaches Award: Jernard Jarreau
Hec Edmundson Most Inspirational: Martin Breunig
Brandon West Walk On Award: Quinn Sterling and Dion Overstreet

Washington Men's Basketball
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets