Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Babcock Named Pac-12 Scholar Athlete Of The Year
Release: 11/30/2011
Print RSS

Nov. 30, 2011

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Senior All-American Christine Babcock garnered another prestigious honor today, as she was named the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year for women's cross country. She is the first Husky to earn the award. Babcock was joined among the six sport winners by Husky men's soccer player Brent Richards.

Babcock helped the Husky women's cross country team to an NCAA second-place finish, the third time UW reached the podium in her four year career. She led UW to the NCAA title in 2008 and a third-place finish in 2009. This month she became the third Husky ever with three Pac-12 All-Academic First Team selections.

The Irvine, California native maintains a 3.93 grade point average majoring in Early Childhood and Family Studies. The was an All-Pac-12 Second Team member this season, placing 12th at the conference meet, and was an All-Pac-12 First Teamer in 2008 and 2009.

"It is always a challenge selecting the Pac-12 Scholar-Athletes of the Year because there are so many remarkable student-athletes in our Conference," Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott said. "The Pac-12 is extremely proud of its heritage of academic and athletic excellence and this group of student-athletes is an example of achieving balance and success at the highest levels."

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12's 22 sponsored sports.

Scholar-Athletes of the Year in each sport will receive a commemorative award. Toyo will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

The Pac-12 Conference, in cooperation with Pac-12 corporate partner Toyo Tires, established the "Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards, presented by Toyo Tires" during the 2007-08 academic year.

2011 Pac-12 Fall Scholar-Athletes Of The Year
Men's Soccer - Brent Richards, WASH
Women's Soccer - Teresa Noyola, STAN
Men's Cross Country - Chris Derrick, STAN
Women's Cross Country - Christine Babcock, WASH
Volleyball - Tarah Murrey, CAL
Football - Jared Karstetter, WSU

Washington Cross Country
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets