Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Six Huskies Named To Second-Team All-Pac-10 Conference Squad
Release: 11/29/1999
Print RSS

Nov. 29, 1999

Walnut Creek, CA - Washington placed six players on the second team All-Pacific-10 Conference football team that was announced today. The Husky selections included: junior quarterback Marques Tuiasosopo, junior offensive guard Chad Ward, senior offensive tackle Kurth Connell, sophomore defensive end Larry Tripplett, sophomore strong safety Hakim Akbar and senior cornerback Jermaine Smith. The All-Pac-10 team is voted on by the league's coaches.

Seven Husky players received honorable mention honors. That group included: freshman place kicker John Anderson, senior wide receiver Gerald Harris, senior defensive end Jabari Issa, junior outside linebacker Jeremiah Pharms, senior inside linebacker Lester Towns, sophomore cornerback Anthony Vontoure and junior free safety Curtis Williams.

The last time Washington did not have a first-team All-Pac-10 player was in 1969. The selections marked the second consecutive season Washington did not have an offensive player earn first-team honors. It is the first time since 1993 that a Husky was not represented on the first-team defensive squad.

1999 All-Pacific-10 Conference Football Team

First Team Offense
QB Todd Husak, Sr., Stanford
RB Reuben Droughns, Sr., Oregon
RB Trung Candidate, Jr., Arizona
WR Troy Walters, Sr., Stanford
WR Dennis Northcutt, Sr., Arizona
TE todd Heap, So., Arizona State
OL Mike McLaughlin, Sr., Stanford
OL Travis Claridge, Sr., USC
OL Jeff Cronshagen, Sr., Stanford
OL Marvel Smith, Jr., Arizona State
OL Aaron Koch, Sr., Oregon State

First Team Defense
DE Andre Carter, Jr., California
DT Willie Howard, Sr., Stanford
DT Jacob Waasdorp, Jr., California
DE Erik Flowers, Sr., Arizona State
OLB Sekou Sanyika, Sr., California
ILB Peter Sirmon, Sr., Oregon
OLB Adam Archuleta, Jr., Arizona State
DB Deltha O'Neal, Sr., California
DB Michael Fletcher, Sr., Oregon
DB David Gibson, Sr., USC
DB Courtney Jackson, Sr., Arizona State

First Team Specialists
PK Mike Biselli, Jr., Stanford
P Nick Harris, Jr., California
RS Deltha O'Neal, Sr., California
ST Emory Brock., Sr., Stanford
AP J.R. Redmond, Sr., Arizona State

Second Team Offense
QB Marques Tuiasosopo, Jr., Washington
RB Ken Simonton, So., Oregon State
RB J.R. Redmond, Sr., Arizona State
WR Danny Farmer, Jr., UCLA
WR DeRonnie Pitts, Sr., Stanford
TE Brandon Manumaleuna, Jr., Arizona
OL Chad Ward, Jr., Washington
OL Kurth Connell, Sr., Washington
OL Bruce Wiggins, Jr., Arizona
OL Josh Beckett, Sr., Oregon
OL Steven Grace, So., Arizona
OL Jason White, Sr., Oregon State

Second Team Defense
DE Larry Tripplett, So., Washington
DT Joe Tafoya, Jr., Arizona
DT Ennis Davis, Jr., USC
DE Kenyon Coleman, Jr., UCLA
OLB Steve Gleason, Sr., Washington State
ILB Marcus Bell, Sr., Arizona
OLB Riall Johnson, Sr., Stanford
DB Dennis Weathersby, Fr., Oregon State
DB Hakim Akbar, So., Washington
DB Jermaine Smith, Sr., Washington
DB Justin Wilcox, Sr., Oregon

Second Team Specialists
PK Rian Lindell, Sr., Washington State
P Kurtis Doerr, Jr., Oregon
RS Michael Fletcher, Sr., Oregon
ST Deitrich Moore, Sr., Oregon

RS -- return specialist
ST -- special teams player
(non kicker or returner)
AP -- all-purpose

Offensive Player of the Year: Troy Walters, FL, Sr., Stanford
Defensive Player of the Year: Deltha O'Neal, CB, Sr., California
Freshman of the Year: Kareem Kelly, SE, USC
Coach of the Year: Tyrone Willingham, Stanford

Washington Football
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets