Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Shaw Wins Flaherty Award
Release: 11/22/1999
Print RSS

Nov. 22, 1999

SEATTLE - Junior running back Maurice Shaw was named the winner of the Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational Award at Washington football team's annual awards banquet held Monday night. Shaw, who bounced back from a back injury that sidelined him last season, was selected as the recipient of the award in a vote of his teammates. The Flaherty Award is Washington's oldest (since 1908), and most prestigious, individual award.

The Husky players selected junior quarterback Marques Tuiasosopo the team Offensive MVP and Lester Towns as the team Defensive MVP. Tuiasosopo was also honored as the KOMO-Radio Outstanding Offensive Player of the Year along with senior wide receiver Gerald Harris. Sophomore safety Hakim Akbar and junior inside linebacker Derrell Daniels were named the KOMO-Radio Outstanding Defensive Players of the Year. Curtis Williams and Wilbur Hooks were selected the Special Teams Players of the Year by KOMO-Radio. Williams also received the Chuck Neimi Big Hit Award.

Senior offensive tackle Kurth Connell received the L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year Award. Junior offensive guard Chad Ward was named the John P. Angel Outstanding Offensive Lineman while junior nose tackle Larry Tripplett was recognized as the John P. Angel Outstanding Defensive Lineman. Tripplett was also named the Academic Excellence Award winner.

KING-TV's Most Improved Awards were presented to freshman tight end Jerramy Stevens, sophomore center Kyle Benn and sophomore wide receiver Todd Elstrom. Most Improved Awards on the defensive side were given to freshman linebacker Anthony Kelley, senior nose tackle Toalei Mulitauaopele and sophomore cornerback Anthony Vontoure.

The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Awards were presented to safety Levin Madarieta and kicker John Anderson. The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the year went to freshman tailback Matthias Wilson. Sophomore linebacker Derek Noble was announced as the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Players of the Year Award was presented to senior fullback Brian.

The Inspirational Academic Award was presented to senior safety Renard Edwards. Junior punter Ryan Fleming, a regional Academic All-American, was honored as the 101 Club Academic Award winner for having the highest grade point average. The Earle Glant Tough Husky Medal was presented to senior offensive guard Dominic Daste. Junior linebacker Chris Waddell and Towns shared the Tyee Sports Council's Community Service Award.

Coaches Awards for outstanding contributions to the team were made to Pat Conniff, Jermaine Smith, Chris Juergens and Mac Tuiaea.

The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award was presented to Gunnar Tait, a student assistant on the Husky equipment staff and Aung Aye, a student trainer.

1999 Washington Football Awards

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Maurice Shaw

Players' MVP Award
Marques Tuiasosopo (Offense)
Lester Towns (Defense)

KOMO-Radio Player of the Year
Marques Tuiasosopo & Gerald Harris (Offense)
Hakim Akbar & Derrell Daniels (Defense)
Curtis Williams & Wilbur Hooks (Special Teams)

KING-TV Most Improved Player
Jerramy Stevens, Kyle Benn & Todd Elstrom (Offense)
Anthony Kelley, toalei Mulitauaopele & Anthony Vontoure (Defense)

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Chad Ward (Offense)
Larry Tripplett (Defense)

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Kurth Connell

101 Club Academic Award
Ryan Fleming

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Dominic Daste

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Curtis Williams

Tyee Sports Countil Service Award
Chris Waddell & Lester Towns

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Mathias Wilson

Brian Stapp Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Derek Noble

Mark Drennan Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Brian Cook

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
John Anderson & Levin Madarieta

Kurt Gegner Memorial
Gunnar Tait (equipment staff) & Aung Aye (training staff)

Inspirational Academic Award
Renard Edwards

Academic Excellence Award
Larry Tripplett

Coaches Awards
Pat Conniff, Jermaine Smith, Chris Juergens & Mac Tuiaea

Washington Football
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets