Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Three Baseballers Make All-Pac-10
Release: 06/21/1999
Print RSS

May 21, 1999

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Three Washington baseball players have been named as members of the 1999 All-Pacific-10 Conference baseball team, Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Junior Jeff Heaverlo, senior Bryan Williamson and junior Dominic Woody were three of 20 players named to the team. Sophomore pitcher Jeff Carlsen earned honorable mention. Arizona State shortstop Willie Bloomquist, from Port Orchard, Wash., was named the Player of the Year while USC's Barry Zito earned Pitcher of the Year honors. Stanford's Mark Marquess was named Coach of the Year.

Heaverlo, a right-handed pitcher from Ephrata, Wash., has set several school records this season. He is the UW all-time leader in single-season (125) and career (297) strikeouts and has the career records for innings pitched and starts. With his 10-3 overall record, he is second in the league in wins. Expected to be a first-round draft pick in next month's draft, he was also a second-team All-America selection by USA Today Baseball Weekly.

Williamson, an outfielder from Kennewick, Wash., currently leads the Pac-10 with his .408 batting average. He also leads the Huskies with 75 hits (tied) and 55 runs. His 15 doubles are second on the team and his 10 home runs are third. Williamson was named the All-Pac-10 North utility man in 1997.

Woody, a catcher from Richland, Wash., broke the UW single-season home runs record last week and has 17 on the season, fifth-most in the Pac-10 this year. His 22 doubles are tied for most in the conference. His 68 RBI this season are the third most in UW history and he is currently batting .379. Woody is among the top 10 in the conference in nine offensive categories.

Here is the complete All-Pac-10 Baseball team (alphabetical order):

Name            School    Pos. Yr.  Hometown
Garrett Atkins    UCLA           IF  So.  Irvine, Calif.
Andrew Beinbrink  Arizona State  IF  Sr.  San Diego, Calif.
Joe Borchard      Stanford       OF  So.  Camarillo, Calif.
Dominic Correa    USC            IF  Sr.  Sacramento, Calif.
Seth Davidson     USC            IF  So.  San Diego, Calif.
Keoni DeRenne     Arizona        IF  So.  Honolulu, Hawai'i
John Gall         Stanford       IF  Jr.  Portola Valley, Calif.
Joe Gerber        Oregon State   IF  Jr.  Portland, Ore.
Greg Hanoian      USC            OF  Sr.  Huntington Beach, Calif.
Ray Hattenburg    Washington St. OF  Jr.  Spokane, Wash.
Jeff Heaverlo     Washington      P  Jr.  Ephrata, Wash.
Josh Hochgesang   Stanford       IF  Sr.  Fullerton, Calif.
Jason Lane        USC            OF  Sr.  Sebastopol, Calif.
Xavier Nady       California     IF  So.  Salinas, Calif.
Bill Scott        UCLA           OF  Fr.  Granada Hills, Calif.
Mike Tonis        California      C  So.  Elk Grove, Calif.
Chase Utley       UCLA           IF  So.  Long Beach, Calif.
Bryan Williamson  Washington     OF  Sr.  Kennewick, Wash.
Dominic Woody     Washington      C  Jr.  Richland, Wash.
Jason Young       Stanford        P  So.  Berkeley, Calif.
Player of the Year: Willie Bloomquist (Jr. IF, Arizona State)
Pitcher of the Year: Barry Zito (Jr. LHP, USC)
Coach of the Year: Mark Marquess (Stanford)

Washington Baseball
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets