Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
Husky Hall of Fame
Release: 06/21/1999
Print RSS

In 1979, the University of Washington inducted its first members into the newly created University of Washington Hall of Fame. This year the Huskies will celebrate the 18th annual induction ceremonies Friday, April 24, 1998. Among the inductees will be the 1952 Men's 4-Oared Crew.

Formed to honor and preserve the memory of those athletes, teams, coaches and members of the athletics staff who have contributed in a very outstanding and positive way to the promotion of the University of Washington athletics program, the 18-year-old Hall of Fame has honored a number of people associated with Husky crew.

1979 Inductees

Hiram Conibear
Crew Coach, 1907-17

The "Father of Washington Crew" invented the rowing stroke which today remains the accepted standard throughout the world. He laid the foundation for the very successful crew program while coaching the Huskies from 1907-1917. Dozens of his proteges went on to coach the sport long after his accidental death in 1917.

1936 Men's 8-Oared Crew

This Husky crew earned amateur sports' highest award, the 1936 Olympic Games Gold Medal. Coached by Al Ulbrickson, Sr., the crew of Donald Hume, Joe Rantz, George Hunt, Jim McMillin, John White, Gordon Adam, Charles Day, Robert Morris and Robert Moch brought the United States and the University of Washington one of its greatest honors.

Al Ulbrickson, Sr.
Crew Coach, 1927-1958

Al Ulbrickson directed the Husky crew program for 32 years, guiding it to some of its greatest victories. Two of the biggest wins were the 1936 Olympic Gold Medal in Berlin, and defeating the Soviet Union in Moscow in 1958, his final coaching win. Ulbrickson's teams dominated the annual Washington-California-Stanford series and won six Intercollegiate Rowing Association varsity titles.

1981 Inductees

1948 Men's 4-Oared Crew

These five men represented the University of Washington and the United States in the 1948 Olympic Games in England, and returned home with the Foar-Oar with Coxswain Gold Medal. Coxswain Allen Morgan, Warren Westlund, Bob Martin, Bob Will and Gordon Giovanelli defeated Switzerland and Denmark in the finals by two full boat-lengths to win the Gold Medal.

1982 Inductees

Rusty Callow Crew Coach, 1922-27

As an undergraduate, Callow earned four rowing letters, captained the 1915 shell, raced with the first Washington crew to row at Poughkeepsie and served as president of the Associated Students of the University of Washington. He returned to his alma mater in 1922 to assume the head coaching duties and quickly compiled a phenomenal record of success. Callow's teams dominated the Intercollegiate Rowing Association Regatta during his five-year tenure, capturing championships in 1923, 1924 and 1926, and finishing as runners-up in 1925 and 1927. His teams also dominated arch-rival California with four victories in five competitions.

1984 Inductees

1958 Men's 8-Oared Crew

This crew of John Bisset, John Sayre, Andy Hovland, Louis Gellermann, Chuck Alm, Phil Kieburtz, Roger MacDonald, Dick Erickson and Bob Svendsen rowed to an outstanding intercollegiate season before traveling to Henley, England for the Royal Henley Regatta. The Huskies fell victim to the Leningrad Trud Rowing Club of the Soviet Union in their attempt to win the coveted Grand Challenge Cup, losing by one-and-a-half boat-lengths over the one-mile, 550-yard Henley course. Washington challenged the Soviets to a rematch in Moscow where the Huskies earned revenge. The Huskies won the Moscow Cup, beating the Leningrad Trud crew by one-and-three-quarters lengths on the 2,000-meter Khimkinskoe Reservoir course.

1986 Inductees

1940 Men's 8-Oared Crew

The 1940 eight rowed to an undefeated season and captured the prestigious Intercollegiate Rowing Association title in Poughkeepsie, N.Y. The crew of Ted Garhart, Dallas Duppenthaler, Dick Yantis, Chuck Jackson, Gerald Keely, Sr., Al Erickson, Paul Soules, John Bracken and Frederick P. Colbert picked up an easy, two-length victory over California during the regular season. The crew then met Cornell, Syracuse, Navy, California, Columbia, Wisconsin and Princeton on the Hudson River. Washington was challenged at the finish of the four-mile race by Cornell, but the Huskies hung on to win their sixth Intercollegiate Rowing Association championship. The group of four sophomores, three juniors and one senior was the youngest crew ever to row under Washington's colors in the IRA championships.

1989 Inductees

George Pocock
Shell Designer and Builder, 1912-1976

By the end of his illustrious career, George Pocock was a revered international figure in the world of crew racing. He was a consultant to the University of Washington on rowing matters and an able confidant of decades of winning coaches. It was, however, as a shell builder that Pocock made his mark. He introduced red cedar boats, and more importantly, added refined lines and removed weight from his racing shells. With a master's touch he built shells of his own design which year after year spread his reputation. His dedication and loyalty to the University of Washington began when varsity crew coach Hiram Conibear, convinced George and his brother to come to Seattle to build 12 eight-oared shells. He continued his craft until his death on March 19, 1976.

1981 Women's 8-Oared Crew

Competing in their first Women's Collegiate National Championship, the UW women captured the 1,000-meter title in a time of 3:20.8, defeating Yale by two seconds. The crew consisted of Debbie Moore, Madeline Hanson, Susan Broome, Karen Mohling, Peg Achterman, Kristi Norelius, Shyril O'Steen, Jane McDougall and Lisa Horn.

1990 Inductees

1923 Men's Eight-Oared Crew

The 1923 crew was the first in a long line of national championship squads. After Husky oarsmen tried for 10 years, the 1923 crew finally won the Intercollegiate Rowing Association championship by upsetting Navy in the varsity eight race. This unprecedented win helped put Seattle and the University of Washington on the map. The championship crew consisted of Max Luft, Charles Dunn, Fred Spuhn, Sam Shaw, Pat Tidmarsh, Rowland France, Harry John Dutton, Dow Walling and Don Grant.

1991 Inductees

1941 Men's Eight-Oared Crew

The 1941 crew was crowned Intercollegiate Rowing Association champions. The crew consisted of Ted Garhart, Walt Wallace, Bill Neill, Paul Simdars, Tom Taylor, Chuck Jackson, Doyle Fowler, John Bracken, and Vic Fomo. Three members of this crew - Bracken, Garhart and Fomo - won every crew race they participated in during their four years of competition. Coach Al Ulbrickson called this crew "as great a crew as I've ever had."

1994 Inductee

Dick Erickson
Crew Coach, 1968-87

A 1958 Washington graduate, Erickson took over coaching crew in 1968. His teams won the 1984 national collegiate championship and 15 Pacific Coast Rowing Championship varsity titles during his 20-year coaching career. In 1977 his crew won the Grand Challenge Cup at the Henley Royal Regatta. Erickson was voted Pac-10 Coach of the Year three times. He was a member of the U.S. Olympic Rowing Committee from 1972-76 and received the 1990 Audi Excellence Award for outstanding efforts benefitting masters and recreational rowers. Erickson currently works as the Events Manager for the UW Department of Intercollegiate Athletics and is a regular television commentator for the Windermere Cup Crew Races each May.

1996 Inductee

Alan Forney
Rower, 1979-82

Alan Forney led the Huskies to three Pac-10 crew titles, winning in 1979, 1980 and 1981 (going undefeated in 1981). He was a member of the U.S. National team, competing in the 1982 World Championships and the 1984 Olympic Games, where he won a silver medal.

Washington Women's Rowing
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets