Don't have an account? Click Here
2016-17 Basketball Season Ticket Renewal
CBS Sports Network will televise the Honda Awards live Monday at 5 p.m.
Honda Awards Set To Air Monday Featuring Vansant
Release: 06/29/2014
Print RSS

SEATTLE - The top women's collegiate athletes are assembling in Los Angeles today for the annual Honda Sports Awards, set to be announced this Monday, June 30, from the Galen Center at USC. Washington's Krista Vansant is one of the twelve women vying for the top honor, as the 2013-14 winner for women's volleyball.

CBS Sports Network will televise the awards show LIVE on Monday at 5:00 p.m. The CBS Sports Network is located on DirecTV Channel 221 and Dish Network Channel 158, and on channel 412 in the Seattle are on Comcast.

The Honda Sports Award is presented annually by the CWSA to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”. The 12 honorees were chosen by a vote of administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools and among four finalists in each sport.

Along with Vansant, the rest of the nominees include Abbey D'Agostino (Cross Country; Dartmouth), MarieElena Bolles (Field Hockey; UCONN), Abby Dahlkemper (Soccer; UCLA), Felicia Lee (Swimming & Diving; Stanford), Kim Jacob (Gymnastics; Alabama), Breanna Stewart (Basketball; UCONN), Taylor Cummings (Lacrosse; Maryland), Celine Boutier (Golf; Duke), Madison Shipman (Softball; Tennessee), Robin Anderson (Tennis; UCLA), and Sharika Nelvis (Track & Field; Arkansas State).

In addition the to the 12 Honda Sports Award winners vying to be named the Honda Cup winner and Collegiate Woman of the Year, the broadcast will also feature the presentation of the Honda Inspiration award to Arin Gilliland (Kentucky, Soccer), the Honda Division II Player of the Year to Lauren Battista (Bentley, Basketball) and the Honda Division III Player of the Year to Christy Cazzola (UW-Oshkosh, Track & Field).

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for 37 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.

Recent overall winners include Oklahoma softball player Keilani Ricketts last season, Baylor basketball player Brittney Griner in 2011-12, UCONN basketball player Maya Moore in 2010-11, along with other legendary athletes such as Misty May in 1998-99, Mia Hamm in 1993-94, and Jackie Joyner in 1984-85.

Vansant is the third different Husky to be up for the award, as Courtney Thompson was the volleyball winner in 2005-06, and Danielle Lawrie was a two-time softball winner in 2008-09 and 2009-10.

Washington Volleyball
BB Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Husky Tickets